Posts tagged ‘SIGNIS’


Paolo Sorrentino “This Must Be The Place” wins at Cannes

by Marianne Wi

The Ecumenical Prize was today awarded to Paolo Sorrentino at Cannes, it is a special prize approved by SIGNIS (World Catholic Association for Communication) together with INTERFILM (International Interchurch Organisation) a price most Directors are not particular overjoyed to receive and one Lars von Trier certainly joked himself out of this year, you can take freedom of speach too far at Cannes. Sorrentino took the news in his stride and I am sure hoping it is just one of many.

The Ecumenical Award was first given out in 1974, to follow is a list of previous winners courtesy of :

1974   Angst essen Seel auf (Fear Eats the Soul) – Rainer Werner Fassbinder
1975   Jeder für sich und Gott gegen alle (Kaspar Hauser) – Werner Herzog
1976   The Ecumenical Jury did not give an award
1977   J.A. Martin, photographe – Jean Beaudin/La dentellière (The Lacemaker) – Claude Goretta
1978   L’albero degli zoccoli (The Tree with the Wooden Clogs) – Ermanno Olmi  ITALY
1979   Bez znieczulenia (Without Anesthesia) – Andrzej Wajda
1980   Stalker – Andreï Tarkovski/Constans (Constancy) – Krzysztof Zanussi
1981   Czlowickz zelaza (Man of Iron) – Andrzej Wajda
1982   La Notte di San Lorenzo (The Night of San Lorenzo) – P. et V. Taviani   ITALY
1983   Nostalghia – Andreï Tarkovski   ITALY
1984   Paris Texas – Wim Wenders
1985   La historia oficial (The Official History) – Luis Puenzo
1986   Offret (The Sacrifice) – Andreï Tarkovski
1987   Pokayaniye (Repent) – Tenguiz Abouladze
1988   A World Apart – Chris Menges
1989   Jésus de Montréal – Denys Arcand
1990   Stanno tutti bene (Everybody’s Fine) – Guiseppe Tornatore   ITALY
1991   La double vie de Véronique (The Double Life of Veronique) – Krzysztof Kieslowski
1992   Il ladro di bambini (The Stolen Children) – Gianni Amelio   ITALY
1993   Libera me – Alain Cavalier
1994   Huo Zhe (To Live) – Zhang Yimou/Outlomlionnye Solntsem (Burnt by the Sun) – Nikita Mikhalkov
1995   Land and Freedom – Ken Loach
1996   Secrets and Lies – Mike Leigh
1997   The Sweet Hereafter – Atom Egoyan
1998   Mia eoniotita ke mia mera (Eternity and one Day) – Theo Angelopoulos
1999   Todo sobre mi madre (All about my Mother) – Pedro Almodovar
2000  Eureka – Aoyama Shinji
2001   Safar e Gandehar (Kandahar) – Mohsen Makhmalbaf
2002   Mies vailla menneeisyyttä (The Man without a Past) – Aki Kaurismäki
2003   Panj é Asr (At Five in the Afternoon) – Samira Makhmalbaf
2004   Diarios de motocicleta (Motorcycle Diaries) – Walter Salles
2005   Caché (Hidden) – Michael Haneke
2006   Babel – Alejandro González Iñárritu
2007   The Edge of Heaven – Fatih Akin
2008   Adoration – Adam Egoy

2009   Looking for Eric – Ken Roach

2010   Of Gods and Men  – Xavier Beauvois

2011   This must be the Place  – Paolo Sorrentino ITALY

%d bloggers like this: