Top Ten Italian Award Winners of the Last Decade (Male)

by Marianne Wi

I was recently asked to provide a list of my top 5 Italian Films released during the first 6 months of 2011, I am seriously struggling to find 3 so while I am  having a heated debate with my virtual self, I have been taking a look at the past decade, who in the Italian Film Industry have  won the most awards ? Exciting stuff on a hot day in Sicily, I have separated the winners into male and female categories, because I can.

Top Awards given to an Italian Male during the last decade are :

10   Antonio Martino with 38

08  Michele Placido with 40  (shared)

08  Matteo Garrone with 40  (shared)

06  Michelangelo Frammartino 41 ( for one film Le quattro volte, The Four Times 2010)(shared)

06  Giuseppe Tornatore with 41 (shared)

05  Marco Bellocchino with 42

04  Pupi Avati with 44

03  Ferzan Ozpetek with 54

02  Paolo Sorrentino with 61

01  Giorgio Diritti with 63

I loved Diritti’s film Il vento fa il suo giro, The Wind goes round out in 2005,  it was a truly awesome film from this Italian first time director. Diritti followed that up with L’Uomo che Verrà, The Man That Will Come, I was very disappointed with that particular film purely because Spike Lee directed Miracle at St. Anna a year earlier, it was panned in Italy although a 100 % superior production, more and less the same subject bar a few black soilders and the sex of a child, I am still quietly seething over the Italians reaction to Spike Lee, do not critique or even express an opinion about a film you have not seen, that is all I am saying. Information courtesy of the great folk of Cinema Info.

Leave a Reply

