Riccardo Scamarcio could he be my red hot Romeo ?

by Marianne Wi

If you read my blog on a regular basis, you will know that I am not a big fan of Italy’s ” Matinee  Idol” or ” Leading Bo” I cannot warm to him no matter what he does, just not a multi faceted actor , I am alone in this view so therefore I am blogging this news for you people living outside Italy.

Riccardo Scamarcio, is turning to Shakespeare and is the new Romeo …….. Nooooo , I would never joke about Shakespeare , Riccardo Scamarcio, takes to the stage on the 14th of February at the Teatro Eliseo in Rome , it is of course a sell out but if you are in Rome and want a glimpse of this “Eye Candy”, do go and stand by the stage door, he has to get in somehow, right folks ?. There will be ticket touts Ohhh Yes , just rock up an hour before hand with cash and pay the price you think he is worth ( do be carefull some tickets are also fake).

On a serious note the play in on at the  Teatro Eliseo who apart from this play has a great repertoire , so do go and catch a play, you cannot spend all your time in the Cinema !

I found this entry on YouTube for the publicity of Romeo and Giulietta , you really have to be a fan…………!

There have been no reviews as yet, fear not I shall be flabbing my ears in the wind ,searching for news just for you .

The play is directed by Valerio Binasco and although no one really cares much about poor Giulietta, she will be played by  Deniz Ozdogan , obviously kissing Riccardo every night must be a bonus and make up for the lack of interest in her.

Juliet:
O Romeo, Romeo, wherefore art thou Romeo?
Deny thy father and refuse thy name;
Or if thou wilt not, be but sworn my love
And I’ll no longer be a Capulet.

Romeo:
[Aside] Shall I hear more, or shall I speak at this?

Juliet:
‘Tis but thy name that is my enemy:
Thou art thyself, though not a Montague.
What’s Montague? It is nor hand nor foot,
Nor arm nor face, nor any other part
Belonging to a man. O be some other name!
What’s in a name? That which we call a rose
By any other word would smell as sweet;
So Romeo would, were he not Romeo call’d,
Retain that dear perfection which he owes
Without that title. Romeo, doff thy name,
and for thy name, which is no part of thee,
Take all myself.

O ROMEO, ROMEO, WHEREFORE ART THOU ROMEO?

While searching for information on Riccardo and his Romeo role I came across this delightful video from Teatro Eliseo Naples not Rome, thought you might enjoy it as much as me😉

 

One Trackback to “Riccardo Scamarcio could he be my red hot Romeo ?”

Leave a Reply

