Immaturi, The Juveniles (Possible English Title)

by Marianne Wi

Well, sometimes you just have to rejoice in the fact that you can be wrong. I was not looking forward to this afternoons film, the trailer filled me with dread and I did wonder why this film had not been release at Xmas…… BUT Wooo I really enjoyed it despite myself, it was fun ,easy-going , music lovely, screenplay just right, editing smooth and the scenes were just …….. Immaturi, The Juveniles were just what you needed on a rainy afternoon , all warm and wossy from the beginning to the end, hot cioccolate and slippers..

Director :  Paolo Genovese , is riding high here in Italy at the moment a bit of a Golden Goose right now, he had this years Santa number one ,with an enormous turnover La Banda dei babbi natale. I did not see it, I am just too fragile to watch Santa films, I might now look into seeing it  as I enjoyed Immaturi so much. I do not think Genovese is known outside Italy, although I am sure I saw Nessun messaggio in segreteria, Sorry you cannot get through  in the USA back in 2007. I will be surprised if it makes it across the Italian border , I do hope it does as I enjoyed it.

Cast : Isabelle Adriani, Ambra Angiolini, Luca Bizzarri,  Barbora Bobulova, Raoul Bova, Anita Caprioli, Paolo Kessisoglu, Ricky Memphis, Giulia Mechelini, Giovanna Ralli, Luisa Raineri, Daniela Virgilio.

Synopsis : A group of Thirty Somethings ,who have known each other for over 20 years, all receive a letter stating that their  exam has been disqualified and need to be re-sat , yes chaps re-sat after 10 years ( now perhaps you understand why I was not over joyed to see this film) Still, we follow this delightful group and each individual protagonist blossom and grow with such great insight and like the onion gets stronger as the layers are peeled away or does it get sweeter ? Yes, it is a bit of a girly movie, a wee bit cheesy even, what is wrong with that ? Great acting from everyone and I do love Ricky Memphis and his character “Italian cinema gold” The Mammone .

Leave a Reply

